The Shangri-La and Mars Connection

Tac

• Administrators

Hey guys, Tac here and I've been reworking this thread since I released it a couple years ago. Originally, I presented evidence for why Shangri-La was on Mars, but since then I've realized that they're merely connected and while Shangri-La may have once been on Mars, it likely isn't while we play. Because of this, I want everyone to realize that the OP has changed and so when reading the comments, realize that at the time of creation, there was less evidence than when you're currently reading this

Shangri-La has always been a map that is shrouded in mystery and we have all been intrigued by it at one point or another. As some of us may have seen, Treyarch developers and staff tweeted about the Shangri-La mountains:

Spoiler

OYe2OLm.png

SezzeJG.png

*note: the second image is referring to how Shangri-La monkeys shoot into space, which also may be connected*

In multiple instances, they talk about a mountain and say the word range, so it's natural for one to immediately think of a mountain range. If you walk around Shangri-La and try to find a mountain or mountain range, there's one in particular that sticks out. From the starting room, if you go through the maze and meander over to the bridge and look to the right, you'll see a lot of foliage... and a mountain range. This mountain range, as you can see from the image below, does not look like it fits. To me, that mountain has more of a desert feel. There's no foliage on it and you can see obvious age with the rock, since it has layers and layers of different kinds of rock. If you look at the Shangri-La loading screen below, you see a very green and luscious area, which makes sense because Shangri-La is said to be a very tropical location, even a paradise. However, it's oddly in a deep valley or canyon that looks not so green and lush.

MfaZjPQ.png

p83duTG.png